MMDA resumes total truck ban policy along EDSA

Updated May 17, 2021 | Same topic: Latest Traffic Updates

Trucks are not allowed to traverse EDSA starting today.

The Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) has started to reimplement the truck ban policy in major thoroughfares around the capital. This is in line with the National Capital Region’s transition to general community quarantine (GCQ) classification

MMDA Truck Ban

Truck ban policy is now being implemented

"In view of the general community quarantine (GCQ) classification in the National Capital Region, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) shall resume the implementation of its truck ban policy on major thoroughfares in Metro Manila starting May 17, 2021," MMDA said.  

MMDA’s existing truck ban policy is prohibiting trucks from traversing along major thoroughfares in Metro Manila managed by the agency. The truck ban hours are the following: from 6 a.m. to 10 a.m. and from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. The said truck ban hours are implemented Monday to Saturday.

Of note, MMDA is enforcing a total truck ban along EDSA, from Magallanes Interchange in Makati City to North Avenue in Quezon City. Trucks are not allowed to ply EDSA 24 hours a day, from Monday to Sunday.

MMDA truck ban advisory

MMDA truck ban advisory

The MMDA clarified that trucks carrying or transporting perishable and agricultural products are exempted from the said ban.

The agency added that the number coding scheme is still suspended until further notice. The MMDA has suspended the implementation of the number coding scheme since last year when the government implemented lockdowns in Metro Manila due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  

As a review, the government has now put the NCR Plus (Metro Manila, Bulacan, Rizal, Laguna, and Cavite) to GCQ status with heightened restrictions. Other areas will also be placed under GCQ, namely:  

Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Apayao
  • Baguio City
  • Benguet
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Abra

Region 2

  • Cagayan
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya

Region 4-A

  • Batangas
  • Quezon

Region 4-B

  • Puerto Princesa

Region 10

  • Iligan City

Region 11

  • Davao City


  • Lanao del Sur

MECQ continues to be in effect over Santiago City in Quirino Province, Ifugao Province, and Zamboanga City until the end of the month.

Visit for more automotive news.

Martin Aguilar

Martin Aguilar


Martin is the Content Editor of Philkotse. His love for cars first started when he got a remote-controlled toy as a birthday present. Then, Martin’s interest in cars was further developed through his family’s humble collection of Japanese cars.

Martin started his writing career as an editorial assistant and writer for various magazines under ABS-CBN Publishing. Before joining Philkotse, Martin was a writer for Autoindustriya then shifted gears in 2017 to become the editor for AutoDeal.

Aside from his interest in cars, Martin loves to read crime-thriller novels, play basketball in the virtual world, eat tapsilog, and go for random road trip adventures.

View more