New ASEAN NCAP score sheet now includes motorcycle safety

Updated May 20, 2021 | Same topic: Automotive Industry Updates

Motorcycles will be scored based on four categories.

It is already a known fact that the Philippines is considered one of the countries with the worst traffic globally, specifically in areas in and around the metro. As such, Filipino commuters tend to save up for a motorcycle to get to and from their destinations quicker than using a car.

BMW G 310 side view

ASEAN NCAP will now assess motorcycles as well

But the Philippines isn’t the only country where motorcycles are rampant. In fact, the New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) stated that 80 percent of road users in ASEAN countries are motorcyclists. This prompted ASEAN NCAP to roll out a new scoring assessment protocol for 2021 to 2025 to reduce fatalities for two-wheelers.

Under ASEAN NCAP’s scoring assessment protocol, motorcycles will be scored based on four categories. One of which is the Blind Spot Technology that comprises Blind Spot Detection (BSD) and Blind Spot Visualization (BSV). ASEAN NCAP will also look into the Advanced Rear Visualization (ARV), Pedestrian Protection (PP), and Auto High Beam (AHB).   

The Blind Spot Technology is the most critical category as it accounts for eight out of the perfect 16 points in scoring. According to the safety assessment program, motorcycles frequently maneuver their way in traffic which can be unsafe. A dependable blind spot technology will address this drawback for a safer ride.

MG ZS ASEAN NCAP crash test

Unlike cars, motorcycles do not require crash test

As for the ARV category, ASEAN NCAP is giving a maximum point of four. This category assesses a motorcycle’s assistive systems that help determine the obstacles and vehicles around it. A motorcycle should be able to adapt to the dark of the night, glaring sunlight, and weather to bag a perfect score.

Moving on to the AHB category, it comes with a maximum score value of two. This assessment is conducted to show a motorcycle’s capabilities to deform easily for better impact energy absorption in the event of a collision with a pedestrian. ASEAN NCAP will require manufacturers to submit the certification of UNECE Regulation No. 127 ‘Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicles with regard to their pedestrian safety approval’ to earn a score.

Last on the safety assessment protocol is the AHB category which has a maximum point of two. AHB is one of the features that provide safety not only for the rider, but also for oncoming and preceding vehicles. It automatically switches between high and low beams depending on the safest settings.

A BMW motorcycle on a road

The results can be useful when buying new motorcycles

The ASEAN NCAP is also including two bonus points for the Advanced Motorcyclist Safety Technology (MST). It encourages manufacturers to install more safety technologies in their motorcycles to reduce the possibility of a collision with pedestrians or cars.

Visit for more of the latest in the automotive industry.

Rex Sanchez

Rex Sanchez


Rex started off his career in the aviation industry before entering Philkotse as a staff writer. Two things excite him the most: first is staying up to speed with the latest news in the industry that uses engines as their heart and soul. The second is imparting them in a well-detailed manner. His passion for anything with wheels started when he was young – from Tamiyas to family-friendly sedans, and anything in between.

Someday, Rex only wishes to drive on random highways with friends in a third-gen Mitsubishi Delica with aftermarket sunroofs, if he couldn’t get the Starwagon Super Exceed edition.

View more